About Skål

Skål is a professional organisation of tourism leaders around the world, promoting global tourism and friendship. It is the only international group uniting all branches of the travel and tourism industry. Its members, the industry's managers, and executives meet at local, national, regional and international levels to Do Business Among Friends. 

The first Club was founded in 1932 in Paris by travel managers, following an educational tour of Scandinavia. The idea of international goodwill and friendship grew and, in 1934, the “Association Internationale des Skål Clubs” was formed with Florimond Volckaert as its first President, who is considered the “Father of Skål”.

Skål International today has approximately 15,000 members in 400 Clubs throughout over 90 countries. Most activities occur at the local level, moving up through National Committees, under the umbrella of Skål International, headquartered at the General Secretariat in Torremolinos, Spain.

Skål International is governed by an Executive Committee of six members, elected by delegates to an annual General Assembly, held during the World Congress, hosted by a different country each year. This allows members first-hand observation of the travel and tourism potential around the world.


Vision Statement:

Be a trusted voice in travel and tourism since 1934.


Mission Statement:

Through our leadership, professionalism and friendship, work together to achieve our Vision, maximize networking opportunity and support a responsible tourism industry.


Skål International Colombo:

President: Bernard Wijetunge

The other office bearers:

  • Vice President: Sk. Ahintha Amerasinghe
  • Secretary: Sk. Zahara Mufti
  • Treasurer: Sk. Keethi Jayaweera
  • Membership Development Officer: Sk. Nirmalan Nagendra
  • Young Skål Coordinator: Sk. Rohitha Mendis
  • Public Relations Officer: Sk. Dinushka Chandrasena
  • Committee members: Sk. Mahendra Balasuriya, Sk. Nishad Wijetunga
  • Immediate Past President: Sk. Dushy Jayaweera
  • Board of advisors: Sk. Sega Nagendra
  • Sk. Jayantha Panabokke
  • Sk. Shamalie de Vaz Sk. Dushy Jayaweera 
© 2018-2020 Skal International Colombo. All Rights Reserved. Designed By REA Webmasters